Tried and tested benefits of orange peel powder.

Years ago, I had been to attend my cousin’s wedding ceremony. One look at her mom-in-law and I wondered what she used for her skin!

Radiant, soft and blemish-free, her face resembled that of a model. Of course, her age did show through some wrinkles, but those were not as many as on other women her age.

I think she realized I had been staring at her shamelessly because she approached me with her thousand-watt smile and beamed with delight as she read my thoughts.“Dry some orange peels in the sun, grind them and use them to wash your face every day. I assure you, this is the kind of skin you will soon have!” she crooned the secret into my ears.

Cut to the present, at the age of 45, I rediscovered the beauty secrets that lie hidden within this citrus fruit and its peel!

Not too big on beauty treatments earlier, I had quite neglected myself.

But, this past winter, when oranges had flooded the markets, I bought them regularly and thought of trying aunty’s beauty secret, once more.

I use the orange peel powder 2 – 3 times weekly, and I do notice a difference in my skin tone.

If I were to use it every day, I am sure I would notice a greater improvement in my skin.

Beauty secrets of Orange Peel Powder

HOW TO MAKE ORANGE PEEL POWDER:

It’s easy, really.You wash the orange before peeling it.

Keep the peels aside.

Lay them all in a clean plate and cover it with a thin cloth.

Keep the plate out in the sun for a few days till the peels dry thoroughly.

Grind them all in a grinder or mixer.

Store the powder in an air-tight jar. You may keep it at room temperature.

How to make Orange Peel Powder

HOW TO USE ORANGE PEEL POWDER:

I use gram flour (besan) and curd to wash my face instead of face wash and soap.

So, to that mixture, I add half a teaspoon of orange peel powder. That’s all!

The fragrance of the powder is heavenly, and so is the freshness it brings to your skin!

You could mix it to any face mask/pack/scrub you use.

You could also add it to thick curd and use that as a face mask.

I haven’t tried out any more combinations because, frankly, I like to keep it simple and quick.

Also, during the mornings, when I am in a rush to finish my housework and get down to writing, I can’t think of indulging in any complicated beauty treatments.

So, for me, my orange peel powder+curd+besan works best.

You could try out different combinations using other kitchen ingredients.

Being a natural, there is no fear of any side-effects.

And, if you do experience any discomfort, you can wash off the face mask or the face pack, massage your skin with some coconut oil or ghee and let it take care of your skin.

Coconut oil and ghee are considered natural remedies for many a skin problem, so you also have a solution if things don’t go as per your expectations with the peel powder.

5 BENEFITS OF ORANGE PEEL POWDER:

There are definitely many more benefits of the orange peel powder, but today, I am sharing the few that I have experienced myself.

1 SKIN GLOWING PROPERTIES:

Being a citrus fruit, orange, just like lemon, helps lighten the skin, giving it a natural glow.

I feel it after I have washed my face using the face scrub (besan + curd + orange peel powder).

Skincare tip for dry skin:

Add some cream (malai) to the milk you use to set the curd.

Once a week, make a paste of this creamy curd mixed with orange peel powder and apply it to the face, neck, and hands for about 5 to 10 minutes.

Scrub gently and then wash it off with cold water.Your skin will not feel dry because of the cream in the curd.

The orange powder will act as a scrub to gently exfoliate your skin leaving behind soft, glowing skin.

Do this at bedtime so that your skin will have an entire night to rejuvenate.

You also don’t need to apply any moisturizer after this procedure.

Feel your skin the morning after…baby soft skin, without any blackheads or dryness!

2 LIGHTENS DARK SPOTS:

I can vouch for this benefit, too. I think, it must be around last year, that I noticed dark spots on my cheeks. I guess it may be as a result of hormonal changes.

But, ever since I began using the orange peel powder, I have been noticing slight changes in those dark spots. They do appear lighter.

3 FIGHTS PIMPLES, ACNE, AND BLACKHEADS:

All the above three skin problems are thanks to oily, clogged pores.

The tip of my nose tends to develop blackhead faster as that’s the only oily spot on my face.

So, each time I use my face scrub, I can feel the blackheads disappear, leaving behind a clear, smooth skin.The same applies to pimples and acne, too.

Note: DO NOT scrub your face roughly in the hope of getting smooth skin.

Our facial skin needs gentle handling, so scrub your face lightly.

The granular orange peel powder will take care of the acne and blackheads.

4 NATURAL SKIN TONER:

Thanks to Vitamin C in it, orange peel powder gives you a firm, toned skin by getting rid of excess oil on your skin.

Your skin appears healthier as well as refreshed, as opposed to dull and greasy.

Orange peel powder benefits oily skin the most. Try it to believe it!

5 ANTI-AGEING & REFRESHING:

The faint, citrusy scent of the powder leaves you feeling refreshed after a bath.

You can use it all over your body, as I do with my scrub.

The elbows and knees, where the skin feels rough, feel the difference after a good scrub with this powder.

It also lightens these parts which otherwise might need to be bleached.

Being full of antioxidants, orange peel powder takes care of the fine lines and wrinkles on your face.

Not that these will vanish, magically, but their appearance slows down with regular use of the powder.

Do try out this really simple skin-care treatment.

It’s not just easy to make, it’s also easy to use, and effective, as well!

Love,

SHILPA..

Pin it for later!

22 thoughts on “Tried and tested benefits of orange peel powder.

    1. 😀😀😀😀 Anu, tumhare comment se mere post ko aur raunak aa gayi!
      True, we do have so much in our kitchens, and yet we run after the commercial, chemical-laden stuff!

      Like

  1. Though I would like to use orange peel powder daily, I am not able to. So many benefits of this powder and so easy to make. Thanks Shilpa for this wonderful post! Going to the kitchen now to make this paste and put it on my face.

    Would like to see you soon with your chamakta chehra! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chamatkari Chehra 😂😂😂 Oh, Anshu, I really don’t have such a chehra…But, thanks so much! Yes, we need to meet some day soon.
      But, why can’t you use it daily? Of course, you mustn’t use it daily, just twice of thrice a week should suffice. I am curious.

      Like

  2. What a wonderful idea! My mil has flawless skin too. She uses natural fruits for her skin too. If she cuts a watermelon she applies the leftover on her face. if she makes kadhi, she mixes curd and besan and makes a face pack after lunch. Love these nushkhes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We used to apply orange peel powder as facial masks in college after seeing a hostel mate using it regularly. Your post came as a reminder, Shilpa. I like the step by step procedure you have given here which is so easy to follow. Thanks for sharing, Shilpa.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good day ma. I am sorry for disturbing again. I peeled oranges yesterday and put it in a plastic bag and this morning when i removed it to dry, it had a foul smell. Please ma, does the orange peel still has all the benefits for the skin? Thanks ma.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do not place the peels in a plastic bag. Keep them in a plate, in the sun, or in open air. Once they dry thoroughly, grind them in the grinder to a powder. Place the powder in an air-tight container in the fridge.
      I hope this helps.
      And, do not use the peels that have gone bad and are smelling. Dispose of them.

      Like

  5. im not finding any results…i used 1 tbl spoon orange peel powder,1 tbl spoon multan matti and rose water but there is no results my pimples remain like that only..plZ… suggest me any other alternative

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For your pimples, you need to check your diet, any other health-related issues, digestion issues, hormonal problems. Pimples are usually caused due to our food, digestion problems and the quality of our skin. If it’s oily, then a breakout is common. I would suggest you check your daily diet, water intake, digestion, etc. Working from within will definitely show the results on the outside.

      Take care!

      Like

Leave a comment